Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Monday, May 3, 2010

Two Hawaii high school seniors recognized as Presidential Scholars

Advertiser Staff

Two high school seniors from Hawaii have been named Presidential Scholars for 2010, the U.S. Department of Education said today.

They are:

Nolan M. Kamitaki of Hilo, who attends Waiakea High.

Caitlin E. Mori of Honolulu, who attends Sacred Hearts Academy.

Kamitaki and Mori are among 141 seniors across the country who have demonstrated exceptional academic achievement, artistic excellence, leadership, citizenship and service to their school or community, the DOE said.

Kamitaki was nominated by Waiakea High teacher Jamie Nekoba.

Mori was nominated by Sacred Hearts teacher Gaylen Isaacs.

The Presidential Scholar award was created in 1964.

Of an estimated 3 million high school graduates, more than 3,000 qualified for the award on the basis of outstanding performance on the College Board SAT and ACT exams.

On the Net:

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program: http://www2.ed.gov/programs/psp/awards.html