Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Thursday, May 13, 2010

Mililani top Wai'anae, 12-5

 •  Campbell edges MPI in nine innings, 6-3

By Wes Nakama
Advertiser Staff Writer

Hawaii news photo - The Honolulu Advertiser

Wai'anae's Tiani Henlsey steps on the second base bag before Mililani shortstop Courtney Senas can apply the tag in the third inning.

REBECCA BREYER | The Honolulu Advertiser

spacer spacer

Better late than never, Mililani overcame a 5-0 deficit to defeat Wai'anae, 12-5, last night in the DataHouse Division I Softball State Championship quarterfinals.

The No. 1 seed and O'ahu Interscholastic Association champ Trojans improved to 13-3 in the regular and postseason and will face Interscholastic League of Honolulu runner-up Punahou (13-3) in today's 7 p.m. semifinal at Rainbow Wahine Stadium.

The game will be televised live statewide on OC16.

Mililani, the defending state champ, lost to OIA Red Conference Western Division rival Wai'anae in the regular season and appeared to be in danger of another upset yesterday when the Seariders (11-7) took a stunning 5-0 lead after scoring one run in the bottom of the first inning, three in the second and one in the third.

But the Trojans finally broke through with a run in the fourth after Chesarey Silva led off with a double and scored on Kacie Oshiro's single to right. They then exploded for six runs in the fifth off three hits and two errors, with Silva sparking the rally with a two-run double to center.

"Our team usually comes back," said Silva, a sophomore designated player/third baseman. "We have to prove ourselves, because everybody is out to get us."

Mililani added five runs on five hits in the sixth and Tiari-Jay Fernandez allowed only one run in 5 1/3 innings of relief.

"Even with the 5-0 lead, I was telling our girls, 'We gotta hold 'em,' " said Wai'anae coach Lincoln Naiwi. "It was just that one inning when the momentum switched over, but you gotta give them credit. Five, six, seven those are championship innings."

MILILANI (13-3) 000 160 5 12 12 1

WAI'ANAE (11-7) 131 000 0 5 10 3

Alysia Maddison, Tiari-Jay Fernandez (2) and Rebbeca Lee. Pililani Smith-Keopuhiwa and Kristi Keomalu. W Fernandez. L Smith-Keopuhiwa.

Leading hitters Mililani: Chesarey Silva 3-4, 2 doubles, 3 RBIs; Andi Felise 2-3, triple, 2 RBIs; Kacie Oshiro 2 RBIs; Courtney Senas 2-4, double, RBI; Maddison triple. Wai'anae: Kyree Naiwi 2-3, 2 RBIs; Kaiulani Kamai 2-4, double, RBI; Jazmyn Savini 2-4; Aukai Hauhio 2-4.

Read his blog on high school sports at http://preptalk.honadvblogs.com