Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Five Rainbows picked for conference honors

 •  'Bows take on Bulldogs

Advertiser Staff

Hawai'i landed five players on the all-Western Athletic Conference baseball teams, the conference announced last night in Mesa, Ariz.

Junior shortstop Greg Garcia, sophomore second baseman Kolten Wong, junior designated hitter Jeffrey Van Doornum and sophomore relief pitcher Lenny Linsky were first-team selections.

Junior starting pitcher Josh Slaats made the second team.

Regular-season champion Fresno State led with seven selections, four on the first team led by first baseman Jordan Ribera, picked by the coaches as Player of the Year.

Nevada's Brock Stassi was named Pitcher of the Year.

San Jose State pitcher/DH Zack Jones was named Freshman of the Year.

Fresno State's Mike Batesole was named Coach of the Year.

The selections were not made according to traditional, nine-player teams; note the number of first basemen on the first team.

Player of Year: Jordan Ribera, Fresno State

Pitcher of Year: Brock Stassi, Nevada

Freshman of Year: Zack Jones, San Jose State

Coach of Year: Mike Batesole, Fresno State


Alphabetical by team.

DH—Bobby Coyle, Fresno State

SP—Greg Gonzalez, Fresno State

1B—Jordan Ribera, Fresno State

OF—Dusty Robinson, Fresno State

2B—Kolten Wong, Hawai'i

SS—Greg Garcia, Hawai'i

DH—Jeffrey Van Doornum, Hawai'i

RP—Lenny Linsky, Hawai'i

OF—Devon Dageford, Louisiana Tech

3B—Mark Threlkeld, Louisiana Tech

1B—Shaun Kort, Nevada

SP—Brock Stassi, Nevada

1B—Leo Aguirre, New Mexico State

SP—Blake McFarland, San Jose State

3B/U—Corey Valine, San Jose State


2B—Danny Muno, Fresno State

SP—Josh Poytress, Fresno State

SS—Garrett Weber, Fresno State

SP—Josh Slaats, Hawai'i

C—Clint Ewing, Louisiana Tech

2B—Joey Ford, Louisiana Tech

DH—Alex Williams, Louisiana Tech

OF—Brian Barnett, Nevada

SP—Jeremy Cole, Nevada

RP—Tyler Graham, Nevada

OF—Nick Melino, Nevada

U—Brock Stassi, Nevada

SS—Ryan Aguayo, New Mexico State

DH—Trevor Paine, Sacramento State

1B—Josh Powers, Sacramento State