Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Sunday, February 14, 2010

Knicks' Robinson slams it shut

Associated Press

Hawaii news photo - The Honolulu Advertiser

New York Knicks' Nate Robinson became the first to win the NBA slam dunk contest three times.

LM OTERO | Associated Press

spacer spacer

DALLAS Nate Robinson is the NBA's first three-time slam dunk champion, and that's enough for him. The 5-foot-9 New York Knicks guard says he's done with the marquee event of last night's All-Star festivities.

"No, no, no, no, no. I don't think I can bear that anymore. I'm just happy with this third one," he said. "This is the last one."

Robinson barely won another title, garnering 51 percent of the fan vote to hold off Toronto rookie DeMar DeRozan.

DeRozan advanced to the final round after getting a perfect score of 50 on his second dunk of the first round.

After bringing several Dallas Cowboys cheerleaders on the court with him, Robinson's final dunk came when he threw the ball off the backboard, grabbed it and turned midair for a two-handed backward slam.

"The best thing I brought with me, the Dallas cheerleaders of course," Robinson said. "I asked if they could help me out with the dunk. They did their job and I did mine."

Fan voting determined the final round after DeRozan advanced by getting five 10s from a judging panel.

Robinson won the dunk title as a rookie in 2006, then beat Dwight Howard to win again last year.

Also yesterday:

3-Point Shootout: Boston's Paul Pierce won the 3-Point Shootout, making up for an embarrassing performance the last time he was in the competition.

Pierce scored 20 points in last night's final round, making all five of the 2-point money balls, to beat Golden State's Stephen Curry (17) and Denver's Chauncey Billups (14) in the finals.

Skills Challenge: Phoenix Suns guard Steve Nash won the All-Star Skills Challenge with a time of 29.9 seconds in the finals.

Nash also won the event in 2005. Last night's victory capped a whirlwind 24 hours for the Canadian, who helped light the Olympic cauldron at Friday's opening ceremonies in Vancouver, British Columbia. Utah Jazz guard Deron Williams, who was the 2008 champion, finished second with a time of 37.9 seconds.

Shooting Stars: Dirk Nowitzki of the Dallas Mavericks hit a shot from halfcourt to cap Team Texas' victory in the Shooting Stars competition.

Texas, which also consisted of San Antonio Silver Stars player Becky Hammon and former Houston guard Kenny Smith, beat Team Los Angeles with a time of 34.3 in the finals. The Texas trio needed 13 shots to complete the final round. Three-person teams had to hit six shots from different locations on the floor, culminating with a shot from halfcourt.


Mavs-Wizards trade: The Mavericks traded forward Josh Howard and Drew Gooden to the Washington Wizards yesterday in a seven-player deal that sends Caron Butler and Brendan Haywood to Dallas. The Mavericks also get guard DeShawn Stevenson and cash considerations from Washington. James Singleton and Quinton Ross go to the Wizards to round out the deal.