Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Sunday, January 17, 2010

Speedskating: South Koreans dominate at sprint speedskating

Associated Press

OBIHIRO, Japan Lee Kyou-hyuk won the men's 1,000 meter race on Sunday as South Korea dominated on the final day of the World Sprint Speedskating Championships.

Lee had a time of 1 minute, 09.60 seconds to finish first and claim the overall title. Lars Elgersma of the Netherlands was second, 0.13 seconds behind Lee, while Ronald Mulder, also of the Netherlands, was third in 1:10.36.

Lee Kang-seok won the men's 500 in 35.11 seconds, 0.06 seconds ahead of Lee Kyou-hyuk.

Germany's Jenny Wolf won the women's 500 in 38.24, 0.13 seconds ahead of South Korea's Lee Sang-hwa, who won the overall women's title.

Japan's Sayuri Yoshii won the women's 1,000 with a time of 1:17.08.