Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Tuesday, March 23, 2010

HPU's Harada is top hoops coach

By Kalani Takase and Ann Miller
Advertiser Staff Writers

Hawai'i Pacific's Jeff Harada is the Pacific West Women's Basketball Coach of the Year and four of his players were named to the all-conference team yesterday. Mana Hopkins, Jazzmin Awa-Williams and Genesis Lewis are on the first team and Paris Gravely earned second-team honors.

Harada earned his honor in his third season as Sea Warriors coach. He guided HPU to an 18-7 record, the PacWest championship and a berth in the NCAA Division II Tournament.

Hopkins, a sophomore from Kona, earned second-team honors last year. She was ninth in PacWest scoring and Awa, a junior from Kona, finished eighth with a team-high 12.4 points a game. Lewis, a senior from Paramount, Calif., averaged 11.7 points and was second in PacWest rebounding with eight a game.

Gravely, a sophomore guard from Fairfield, Calif., earned her second All-PacWest award.

Brigham Young-Hawai'i's Richelle Fenenbock and Dara Tompkison were honorable mention, as well as University of Hawai'i-Hilo senior Nesha Ann Kimitete.

• • •

• • •