Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Friday, May 7, 2010

Sullivan top boys soccer player

Advertiser Staff

Mid-Pacific senior forward Cody Sullivan has been named Gatorade Hawai'i Boys Soccer Player of the Year.

Sullivan, The Honolulu Advertiser's state Player of the Year, scored 15 goals in leading the Owls to a 12-3 record and the Division II state championship this past season.

He was the co-Offensive Most Valuable Player of the Interscholastic League of Honolulu as Mid-Pacific won its first ILH regular-season title.

Sullivan, who finished his varsity career with 39 goals, has maintained a 3.19 GPA, and has volunteered as a youth soccer coach and as part of the Nature Club at Mid-Pacific.

He will attend the Air Force Academy, where he will play soccer.



The Intercollegiate Tennis Association announced that juniors Sandra Wikstrom (Hawai'i Pacific) and Rong Ma (BYU-Hawai'i) are the West recipients of the Arthur Ashe Award.

It is given to individuals in all divisions at the regional and national level exhibiting "outstanding sportsmanship and leadership as well as scholastic, extracurricular, and tennis achievements."

In other West regional honors, Chaminade's Blake Mosley is Coach of the Year and HPU sophomore Zora Vlckova Women's Player to Watch. Nikola Petrov (HPU) and Jenny Chin (BYUH) are Senior Players of the Year. HPU's Lauren Conching is Women's Assistant Coach of the Year and UH-Hilo's Daniel Pollock Men's Assistant Coach of the Year.



Around 200 paddlers are expected to participate in the 8th annual YMCA Kaua'i World Challenge paddling race tomorrow.

The 32-mile course will start at Wailua Beach and finish at Salt Pond Beach Park.

The event follows a relay format, and the course is divided into four legs.

It will feature various divisions one-person canoes (OC-1), two-person canoes (OC-2), surfskis, paddleboards and stand-up paddleboards.

Most of the entries will be in the OC-1 division. In that division, each "team" will feature two paddlers. One paddler has to complete the first and third legs of the course, and the second padder has to complete the second and fourth legs.

Honolulu paddlers Jimmy Austin and Manny Kulukulualani are considered the top OC-1 team. Australians Travis Grant and Mike Murray are also considered top contenders.


The 2010 Moloka'i World Championships surfski race is scheduled for May 16.

The 32-mile race across the Kaiwi Channel is considered the world championship of long-distance ocean racing for solo surfski paddlers.

The course will start at Kaluako'i, Moloka'i, and finish at Koko Marina, O'ahu.

More than 60 paddlers from around the world are expected to participate.

South Africa's Hank McGregor won the race last year, but is not expected to enter this year.

Early entry fee is $325 per paddler, if paid by May 10. Late entry fee (after May 10) is $425.

For information visit www.molokaiworldchampionships.org.