Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser
Posted on: Sunday, May 16, 2010

Busch drives off in Heluva Good finish

Associated Press

Hawaii news photo - The Honolulu Advertiser

Kyle Busch

spacer spacer

DOVER, Del. Kyle Busch captured the Nationwide Series race at Dover International Speedway yesterday, a day after he ran out of fuel at the end of the Trucks Series race.

Busch won the Heluva Good! 200 from the pole in a race that needed a green-white checkered finish yesterday . And what a finish.

The final laps were marred by wrecks, including one in which Clint Bowyer intentionally hit Denny Hamlin in retaliation for an earlier accident. Bowyer was immediately parked and ordered straight to the NASCAR hauler.

The race was red flagged for 11 minutes, 43 seconds with less than 10 laps remaining after an accident left fluid and debris all over the track.

Ryan Newman, Jamie McMurray, Reed Sorenson and Jason Leffler rounded out the top five.

"It got exciting for everybody at the end," Newman said, laughing.

Bowyer was rear-ended by Hamlin on one of the late restarts. Bowyer took his car to the pits, but just before the green flag dropped, he drove into Hamlin and spun the No. 20.

Hamlin said his hit on Bowyer was "nothing intentional." Bowyer could lose points as part of a NASCAR punishment.

"I hope that they don't penalize Clint Bowyer," McMurray said. "That's what every race car driver wants to do. You don't want to hurt anybody, but when someone takes you out of a race like that and you have no chance of finishing, and they're still going to finish, that is just the best gratification that a guy can have."



Mark Webber was fastest in qualifying for the Monaco Grand Prix yesterday, giving Red Bull its sixth straight start from the pole position this Formula One season.

The Australian turned a lap in 1 minute, 13.826 seconds around the winding street circuit for his fourth career pole a week after his wire-to-wire victory in the Spanish GP.

Robert Kubica of Renault will start second ahead of Sebastian Vettel of Red Bull, followed by Felipe Massa of Ferrari and Lewis Hamilton of McLaren.

Webber beat Kubica by nearly three-tenths of a second to set a course record for pole.