Sponsored by:

Comment, blog & share photos

Log in | Become a member
The Honolulu Advertiser

Posted on: Tuesday, March 15, 2005

Leilehua followed Bibilone's lead

 •  ILH Girls: Punahou seniors Look, Baker take top honors
 •  ILH Boys: Adams, Wittig simply dominated
 •  Notebook: Twins face off in water polo
 •  OIA West Girls: Kikumoto solidified Mililani's defense
 •  OIA East Girls: Moanalua's Butin was precocious and productive
 •  OIA East Boys: Roosevelt's Lau stepped it up a notch
 •  Other All-Stars

By Leila wai
Advertiser Staff Writer

Leilehua senior forward Ryan "RB" Bibilone can stand out during games, but it was what he did during practices that caught his coach's attention.



"When he's working with some of the lesser players, he's really positive with them, even though he has the touches," Leilehua coach Carl Friedl said.

But it was what other coaches saw that earned Bibilone the title of O'ahu Interscholastic Association West Player of the Year.

"I think he's one of the key players that sparked Leilehua this year," Kapolei coach Bryce Kaneshiro said. "Although it is a team game, he's been their focal point for many years. He's steadily improved as the years have gone by. I believe he's one of the better players in the state."

Friedl said: "When RB steps it up, everyone else follows in pursuit."

Bibilone, who scored 10 goals, is joined by teammates Daniel Phelps, a midfielder, and forward Syd Tom, who tied Pearl City forward Steven King for the league scoring title with 13 goals. King also made the first team.

Kapolei, 'Aiea, and Wai'anae had two picks each on the first team: Hurricanes defender Robert Geis and goalkeeper Neal Fajardo, Na Ali'i midfielder Mark Atta and defender Kurt Nishi, and Seariders midfielder Joshua Woodard, who scored eight goals, and defender Eddie May.

Radford midfielder Jamie Whitworth, who scored eight goals, and Mililani defender Michael Smith were also first-team selections.

Tom, Woodard and King were repeat first-team selections.

Kaneshiro was named the Coach of the Year for leading Kapolei to its first division title.

Reach Leila Wai at lwai@honoluluadvertiser.com or 535-2457.

• • •