Posted on Jan. 14, 2001

The 2001 Hawai'i State Legislature

How to reach your representative and senator

House of Representatives

The make-up of the 51-member House under Speaker Calvin Say changed dramatically in last year's election. Eleven members -- all Democrats -- either stepped down or lost in the election. Several of those seats were taken over by Republicans, who now number 19 members. With a larger group, Republicans are hoping to have a stronger influence in pushing classic GOP proposals such as eliminating the excise tax on food, rent and medical services and replacing the statewide Board of Education with smaller, locally-elected school boards.

Make your voice heard
• Contact your legislators.
• Join our discussion on what you would like to see the Legislature accomplish this year.
• Start a petition. Visit our E the People town hall and get a movement going on the issues that matter to you.

More information on the Internet
The State Capitol Web site at offers a variety of information including a legislative timetable, notices of when bills will be heard and links to lawmakers’ e-mail.
Also available at the site are texts of bills and resolutions introduced in 1999, which are still active.
Bills introduced this year will be added as they are filed. A legislative history of each measure are also available at the site along with records of what bills have been referred to each committee.
• More information is also available at the Public Access Room in Room 401 of the State Capitol. Public Access Room staff have scheduled about 15 workshops on the legislative process, citizen lobbying and other subjects for January and February.
A workshop schedule is available at the Access Room Web page at The Web site also features descriptions of how a bill becomes a law and links to other useful sites.
The Public Access Room is open 8 a.m.-6 p.m. Monday through Friday, and 8 a.m.-2 p.m. Saturdays. The room has expanded hours just before the key legislative deadlines. The phone number is 587-0478.

Representatives by last name

Scott Saiki
D-20th (Kapahulu, Moiliili)
Room 426
Phone: 586-8485
Fax: 586-8489
Speaker Calvin Say
D-18th (Palolo, St. Louis, Kaimuki)
Room 431
Phone: 586-6100
Fax: 586-6101
Brian Schatz
D-24th (Makiki, Tantalus)
Room 425
Phone: 586-9425
Fax: 586-9431
Joseph M. Souki
D-8th (Waiehu, Maalaea, Napili)
Room 433
Phone: 586-9444
Fax: 586-9499
William Stonebraker
R-15th (Kalama Valley, Portlock)
Room 324
Phone: 586-6420
Fax: 586-6421
Nathan Suzuki
D-31st (Salt Lake, Moanalua)
Room 316
Phone: 586-6220
Fax: 586-6221
K. Mark Takai
D-34th (Waimalu, Newtown, Pearl City)
Room 403
Phone: 586-8455
Fax: 586-8459
Dwight Takamine
D-1st (Hamakua, N.Kohala)
Room 306
Phone: 586-6200
Fax: 586-6201
Roy Takumi
D-36th (Pearl City, Waipahu)
Room 444
Phone: 586-6170
Fax: 586-6171
Cynthia Thielen
R-49th (Kailua, Kaneohe Bay Dr.)
Room 443
Phone: 586-6480
Fax: 586-6481
Paul Whalen
R-5th (N. & S. Kona, Ka‘u)
Room 322
Phone: 586-9385
Fax: 586-9391
Noboru Yonamine
D-35th (Pearl City, Pacific Palisades)
Room 438
Phone: 586-6520
Fax: 586-6521
Terry Nui Yoshinaga
D-22nd (Moiliili, McCully, Pawaa)
Room 419
Phone: 586-8450
Fax: 586-8454

Representatives by last name