Thursday, January 25, 2001
home page local news opinion business island life sports
AP Sports
University of Hawaii
High Schools
Surf Report
Golf Guide
Classified Ads
Restaurant Guide
Business Directory

Posted on: Thursday, January 25, 2001

Women skippers set sail off Magic Island

Advertiser Staff

With a woman at every helm, 16 sailboats raced off Magic Island Saturday in the Wahine No. 1 Sailboat Race, sponsored by the Hawaii Yacht Club and Hawaii Women’s Yacht Racing Association.

Boats ranged from 45 feet open ocean racing vessels to 4 1/2-foot sailing dinghies.

Talented women skippers showcased a full range of sailing expertise.

Participants included Suzette Hauoli Smith of America’s Cup fame, trans-Pacific skipper Alix Holloway, 1994 Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year Danielle Myrdal, Turkish Laser champion Deniz Karacaoglu, former United States National Thistle champion Maureen Bates and Jennifer Scott, a 13-year-old from Kaneohe who recently won the girls El Toro championships in San Francisco.

The Hawaii Women’s Yacht Racing Association is a hui of women who love to sail. As a nonprofit group, the women organize sailing clinics and race events to promote the sport of sailing among women.

If you are interested in learning more about the organization, call 366-3164.


Performance Handicap (PH)1: 1, Leslie Foster; 2, Sooze Dannels; 3, Sherry Vann; 4, Alix Holloway.

PH2: 1, Gella Luria/Donna Austin; 2, Kate Thompson; 3, Kathleen McDivitt.

PHC (Performance Handicap Cruising): 1, Kim Devereaux; 2, Suzanne Boatman.

Laser: 1, Danielle Myrdal; 2, Deniz Karacaoglu; 3, Malia Perry; 4, Maureen Bates; 5, Marian Westley.

El Toro: 1, Jennifer Scott; 2, Rachel Shackelford.

[back to top]

Home | Local News | Opinion | Business | Island Life | Sports
USA Today Scores | University of Hawaii Teams | High Schools Teams | Recreation | Surf Report
How to Subscribe | How to Advertise | Site Map | Terms of Service | Corrections

© COPYRIGHT 2001 The Honolulu Advertiser, a division of Gannett Co. Inc.